1,730 Delegates Elect Sanusi As Ogun APC Chairman





Femi Adeleke




Chief Yemi Sanusi on Saturday emerged as the Chairman of the Ogun State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Sanusi emerged the Chairman of the ruling party in the State through consensus votes, following the withdrawal of his contender, Olufemi Nuberu from the race.

Governor, Dapo Abiodun hailed chieftains and members of the All Progressive Congress (APC) for the peaceful conduct of the state congress of the party in the state.

Abiodun, who spoke after the election of 37 state officials of the party at a congress held on Saturday at the MKO Abiola Stadium, Abeokuta, described the exercise as a transparent and inclusive process.

He declared the congress which was conducted by the 7-man State Congress Committee led by Hon. Wale Ohu and witnessed by Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) led by the Resident Electoral Commissioner in Ogun, Olusegun Agbaje, as free and fair.

The governor, however, urged the the new executive committee which had Yemi Sanusi, Aderibigbe Tella and Tunde Oladunjoye as chairman, secretary and publicity secretary, respectively, to work assiduously for the party and position it for victory come 2023.

Addressing the gathering earlier, chairman of congress committee, Wale Ohu, informed that all aspirants for different elective positions of the party were duly screened on Friday.

He maintained that any congress held outside the MKO Abiola Stadium was nothing but “exercise in futility”.

Ohu said the committee had the mandate of the National Working Committee of the party to monitor the exercise.

He submitted that 1,730 delegates participated in the congress which was conducted in a peaceful atmosphere.

Ohu said the congress monitored by the officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) which included the State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mr. Olusegun Agbaje, was in line with Article 12.7 of the party’s constitution.

The election was conducted largely by voice votes as some contestants withdrew at the congress venue.


Subscribe to Our VIP Newsletter